How the MMCF

16 films from Russian and foreign directors participated in the main competition program. Our country was represented by directors Evgeny Pashkevich (“The Gulf Stream Under Iceberg”), Evgeny Proshkin (“The Horde”) and Renata Litvinova (“The Last Tale of Rita”). In addition to the main competition, the film festival showcased programs consisting of documentaries, debutante tapes (Perspectives competition) and short picture competition.

The MIFF was supervised by a very serious jury composition of the main competition. It includes Bulgarian director Yavor Gyrdev, Italian producer Adriana Chiesa di Palma, last year’s film festival runner-up Sergei Loban, actor and director from France Jean-Marc Barr and director from Brazil’s Héctor Babenco. The

competition’s top prize went to UK director Tinjj Krishnan for the low-budget film “Scum.” Accepting the Golden George statuette, the author of the best film of MMKF was very excited and said that this award is very important for her and the whole team.

The film “Horde” was named best director, the prize was awarded to director Andrey Proshkin. Kenya Marquez (Mexico) received a Special Jury Award for her painting “Shelf Life”. The presence of the 34th MMKF also honored foreign stars. Katrin Deneuve was presented with a statuette for her loyalty to Stanislavski’s school and her long-term contribution to world film culture. The special prize was presented by the Minister of Culture Vladimir Medinsky.

Nor did American director Tim Burton stand aside from an important event in the film world. His collaboration with Timur Bekmambetov the fantasy film “President Lincoln: The Vampire Hunter” was the high-profile premiere of the festival’s out-of-competition program.

The festival opened the eponymous tape based on Sergei Minayev’s book “Dukhless” (dir. Roman Prygunov). The closing film was Christophe Honoré’s painting “Sweethearts”. The

34th MMKF passed exactly in time, giving the audience to see the most interesting pictures of world cinema today.

Leave a Comment